Fiction

…holidays make memories but…

100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#166
Hosted by Julia at Julia’s Place
Information at 100WCGU

Prompt: …holidays make memories but…
Rules: You have an additional 100 words (104 in total) to put to the prompt to produce a piece of writing to share.

The Priorities of a 20-Something GG

water-tower-228357_1280

“I’m sorry!” I said as I burst through the cinema doors two hours late.

“Why are you even here?” Jason, my manager, asked.

“I told you I would be,” I said.

“I told you not to bother.”

“Yes you did.” I tied the apron behind my back and took his place behind the small concession stand between the only two screens the theater had.

“Where were you?” he asked.

“I told you,” I said. He waited.

“We got lost looking for a cool-looking tower.”

“It’s your first shift after holiday.”

“Holidays make memories, but not like life.”

“Did you find it?” he asked.

“Yes.”

~

This happened. Mostly. I hadn’t just returned from holiday. Not to mention it’s generally referred to as vacation in my vernacular. I did go to work two hours late after a spontaneous road trip that was just supposed to be a run for breakfast. Remind me to tell that story sometime.

Featured Image: 100WCGU badge
Post Image: Water Tower by Hans
(not the one we chased)
CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)

5 thoughts on “…holidays make memories but…

  1. Pingback: The Tale of the Tempting Tower | Gypsie Georgia

Blow Kisses

