Fiction

…but it was there just a moment ago…

100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#163
Hosted by Julia at Julia’s Place
Information at 100WCGU

Rules: You have an additional 100 words (108 in total) to put to the prompt to produce a piece of writing to share.

Prompt: … but it was there just a moment ago…

diner

I stopped at the secluded diner with its haunting neon-on-florescent glow. The owner, Ethel, told stories of folklore over steaming coffee and fresh pie. The coffee was deliriously delicious. I thanked her and left.

I napped in the tree-lined lot, full on apple pie a la mode. A cop knocked on my window and woke me up.

Startled and confused, I answered his question: “I was just at the diner…”

“Ma’am,” he interrupted.  “Have you been drinking?”

“No.”

“This is a desolate highway. What diner do you think you were at?”

“Right here,” I pointed to a moonlit tree line. “But it was there just a moment ago.”

Specifics: 108 words of fiction.

Featured Image: 100WCGU badge
Post Image: 122942G-Plain Jane’s Diner
CC BY 2.0 © Gail Frederick

11 thoughts on “…but it was there just a moment ago…

  1. I was compelled to read this because there is a photo of a diner. I could happily spend much of my life in diners and bars. I really appreciate the economy of words you use. It is hard for me to do, but just yesterday I chose a new blog theme and decided that going forward I wanted to scale my blogs back. My first attempt at doing that is up, but I will be returning to your blogs to keep me focused. Excellent writing.

    Like

  2. Oooo! I love a mystery Georgia! Fancy missing a whole building. My favourite phrase was deliriously delicious! I’ve had coffee like that. Thank you so much for supporting the challenge

    Liked by 1 person

Blow Kisses